The cure is worse than the disease: swine flu

Many contractors of swine flu have said that it is shorter lived than a bad cold and not nearly as bad as regular flu.

The side-effects Tamiflu are said to be worse than the flu itself, as a few commentators have asserted on various bulletin boards.

For example:

Before taking the Tamiflu, I had a slight feverish feeling, was a bit achy and had a headache and a bit of a sore throat, so my GP gave me Tamiflu as a precaution. I was ten times worse after taking it and stopped after 2 tablets, despite taking the first 2 with food as suggested. I would never take this again and would never recomend it to anyone; if it was a cure it would be different, but I would have been better off riding the flu out as I’ve done in the past. I’m in my second week off work as I have to get over the side effects as well as the virus. Just horrific.

Even though the tamiflu cleared most of my influenza symptons quickly ,the side effects for me were much worse and are still continuing.I would rather just ride out the flu.I will most definitely be not taking this medicine again and have recommended to all my family and friends not to take it.

i started tamiflu 4 days ago taking 2 tablets a day for 5 days today is my last day i feel so much worse and thought it was the flu getting worse but after coming on here i am thinking it is these tablets what are making me feel so stange. on day 2 i started to feel actually suicidal after taking my 4th tablet! it only lasted about an hour but scared the hell out of me! i have only one left to take and still fel so weak, dizzy sick and scared. anyone else feeling like this or similar after taking them. worried.

this all happened day 2 after taking 3 doses of the 10 pills. i seriously thought that I was going to die, all of my muscles tensed up around my throat…terrible, terrible feeling. for some i guess they had no side effects, and for them i would say go for it. I will Never take this medicine again, ever.

I took my first dose of Tamiflu yesterday evening. After about 25min my head felt like it was buzzing and I started feeling really dizzy. Then I checked out the leaflet and read through the side effects and I seemed to be experiencing quite a lot of them. About 10min later I had to lie down in bed as I felt so dizzy and horribly sick! Then the stomach cramps kicked in, worse than the ones I have while I’m on my period. I was lucky that I had anti sickness medicine at home (which I took straight after reading the side effects in the leaflet!). Otherwise I probably would have vomited a lot. The anti sickness was also making me feel nice and drowsy so I drifted off into a good 12 hour sleep. For people that have a sensitive tummy like me I would not recommend taking Tamiflu but if you do, make sure you have enough anti sickness medicine at home. I have not taken anymore Tamiflu since, apart from this last dose. For me, nausea dizzyness and vomiting are side effects I cannot bear and I’d rather have a headache and a bit of fever.

Now it’s July 3rd. I’ve been puzzled about why I am still exhausted, but didn’t connect it with Tamiflu. I keep getting headaches everyday, and a weird ‘buzzing’ in my head. My back aches a lot more. I’ve been bluer than usual as well. Plus the IBS flared up too. I’ve made the connection with Tamiflu because today I tasted it very strongly in my mouth, when I haven’t taken it for over 2 weeks! It certainly must still be in my system! How long does this thing stick around in you and what are the long-term effects??!!

My symptoms would be really bad starting 45min after taking med, then last about 3 hours. After that was just a feeling of not feeling right. Lack of focus, moody, agitated, somewhat depressed. I never developed any flu symptoms which is what the manufacturer is trying to blame on these side effects.

Tamiflu.com lists side-effects and precautions:

Rare but serious skin reactions and allergic reactions have been reported. Stop taking TAMIFLU and call your doctor if you experience any of these reactions, as they could be very serious.

People with the flu, particularly children and adolescents, may be at an increased risk of self injury and confusion shortly after taking TAMIFLU and should be closely monitored for signs of unusual behavior. A healthcare professional should be contacted immediately if the patient taking TAMIFLU shows any signs of unusual behavior.

The most common side effects of TAMIFLU are mild to moderate nausea and vomiting. TAMIFLU is generally well tolerated.

In addition, take the following precautions when using TAMIFLU:

  • You should not take TAMIFLU if you are allergic to oseltamivir phosphate or any other ingredients of TAMIFLU.
  • TAMIFLU is normally not recommended for use during pregnancy or nursing, as the effects on the unborn child or nursing infant are unknown. If you are pregnant, planning to become pregnant or breastfeeding while taking TAMIFLU, talk to your doctor before taking TAMIFLU.
  • If you have any type of kidney disease, talk to your doctor before starting TAMIFLU therapy.
  • The use of TAMIFLU along with an intranasal flu vaccine like FluMist®* has not been evaluated. However, due to the possibility for interference between these products, an intranasal flu vaccine should not be given within 2 weeks before or 48 hours after taking TAMIFLU, unless it is deemed appropriate by your doctor. The type of flu vaccine administered as a shot through the skin can be given at any time relative to use of TAMIFLU.

As with any medication, be sure to discuss with your doctor any over–the–counter or prescription medicines you are currently taking before beginning TAMIFLU therapy.

So let’s get this straight. The government is charging bureaucrats, with 5 hours’ ‘training’, with the task of advising people to take Tamiflu – without recourse to a GP, even though some of Tamiflu’s side-effects can be fatal?

The government’s alleged reason for making Tamiflu available is to prevent mass absenteeism from work, which would have a detrimental effect on the economy.

If the Tamiflu ‘cure’ makes patients more ill than the flu itself, the government is compounding the problem. Swine flu isn’t even much of a problem!

The government is the problem.

Read my previous posts about swine flu here, here, here and here.

3 Responses to “The cure is worse than the disease: swine flu”

  1. vincent1 Says:

    Sounds like Chantix then?

  2. Taranis Says:

    Whatever the Government prescribes, slip it down the side of the sofa. They are NOT on your side.

  3. Hipponess Says:

    This is an outright attempt by the Gov., to get people minds off what's really going on. Afghanistan and the economy. 'nuff said.

Leave a Reply

